New Music: Jethro Tull Releases THE ZEALOT GENE


Studio Album, released in 2022

After some 20 years, Jethro Tull return with their first new studio album that evoke Biblical writings in an entirely different way from their classic album Aqualung. “The Zealot Gene” has been in the making for nearly five years, leaning toward the darker side which equate to these current darker times. Ian Anderson elaborates, “While I have a spot of genuine fondness for the pomp and fairytale story-telling of the Holy Book, I still feel the need to question and draw sometimes unholy parallels from the text. The good, the bad, and the downright ugly rear their heads throughout, but are punctuated with elements of love, respect, and tenderness.”

With over 30 albums to their credit and sales totaling over 50 million units, Jethro Tull is one of the most successful rock bands with a catalog that contains classics that still resonate today. The Zealot Gene is born of emotional necessity created by a band that has nothing to prove. Instead, this new album is the latest edition continuing their vast catalog for fans to enjoy and reflect upon.

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Mrs. Tibbets (5:54)
2. Jacob’s Tales (2:13)
3. Mine Is the Mountain (5:40)
4. The Zealot Gene (3:54)
5. Shoshana Sleeping (3:41)
6. Sad City Sisters (3:40)
7. Barren Beth, Wild Desert John (3:37)
8. The Betrayal of Joshua Kynde (4:06)
9. Where Did Saturday Go? (3:53)
10. Three Loves, Three (3:30)
11. In Brief Visitation (3:00)
12. The Fisherman of Ephesus (3:41)

Total Time 46:49Line-up / Musicians

– Ian Anderson / flute, guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, harmonica, vocals
– Joe Parrish / guitars
– John O’Hara / orchestral conductor, piano, keyboards, accordion
– Scott Hammond / drums & percussion
– David Goodier / bass & double bass